1 reply to this topic

#1 King Midas

King Midas

Rookie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 September 2013 - 01:13 AM

This is the first time that I have ever posted on a website let alone a forum but I love Football Manager so much that I figured I would give it a go.  I started playing FM about three years ago and have loved every minute of it. I used a lot of the tactics and advice proferred up by members here on this forum.  I figured I would give back a little bit by sharing a few of my tactics and eventually posting some of my FM stories.

Il Amore was created about a month out of my frustration of never being able to get the 4-2-3-1 to work on FM13.  On FM12 I was able to get a really good one working but FM13 basically ruined that. I tried several different versions of the 4-2-3-1 to no avail.  About a month ago I decided I needed to create a system of play to encourage my players to adopt.  The first of three tactics in this system is known as Il Amore due to my love for the game.  It is a quick tactic with a fairly direct level of passing.  The team presses pretty hard and the defensive line is usually pretty high.

The Goalkeeper is a simple GK in a defend role with limited creativity and defensive mentality.  I loved the sweeper keeper role but it never works for me in FM13 so I just stick with tradition here.

My fullbacks actually operate in a wingback role with the Automatic setting.  Their job is to defend and get forward when possible.  When they get forward they are to hug the line and cross the ball from the byline toward the center.

The centrebacks are in two roles; a central defender with defend role and a ball playing defender in a stopper role.  The job is basically for one to solely defend with the other acting more like a very defensive anchor man.  He is to attack the ball while the other is to be the last line of defense.